Posts Tagged ‘Jo Nesbo’

The Redbreast: Norwegian crime fiction at its best

January 23rd, 2012    Posted in 52 Books in one year challenge, Crime, Fiction, Kelly, Mystery
 

Jo Nesbo’s The Redbreast is the first Harry Hole novel translated into English, although it’s actually the third in the series. While each Harry Hole novel stands alone, there’s a major plot thread that weaves through The Redbreast, Nemesis, and The Devil’s Star.

As someone who read both Nemesis and The Devil’s Star before reading The Redbreast, I knew how the major plot thread ends, but I didn’t know the reader sees the event happen on the page, and knows the solution the whole time even though the characters (including Hole) are in the dark. This is just one of the many reasons I love these novels.

In The Redbreast, Harry Hole has been promoted to Inspector and transfered to an out-of-the-way desk job after almost causing a diplomatic disaster when the US President visited Oslo. Hole discovers a very expensive rifle was smuggled into Norway, and he’s also assigned to keep tabs on Neo-Nazi events in Norway.

The mystery flashes back to events during World War II, following a Norwegian solider fighting for Germany against the Russians. The story lines eventually converge, but only after a ton of twists, turns, and heartache.

The Redbreast is great for fans of Stieg Larsson and Scandinavian crime fiction.

Title: The Redbreast

Author: Jo Nesbo

Source: Public Library

Read: January 2011

 

No Comments